Please note that the information on this page may be outdated.
State of California Testing Fees
the State of California charges $250 for your
first test regardless of which type of license
you are testing for.
This fee covers both parts
of the two part test, the law section and the
trade section. If you do not pass the test for
your first license, you will have to again pay
$250 to California for each subsequent
test, no matter how many tries it takes for you
If you pass one section and fail the
other section, you will only have to retake the
section you did not pass but you still have to
pay the full $250 again.
Once you have passed
both sections of the test for your first license
and/or classification and you decide to either
obtain a second license (or third or fourth,
etc.) or add an additional classification to
your current license, you will pay a reduced fee
to the license board.
This is because you have
already passed the law portion (the law portion
is the same for every license classification),
and you will only have to take the test for the California license trade
At last check, the fee for your test for
your second license (and third and fourth, etc.)
and/or additional classifications to your
current license is $50.00 each in California.
Please note however, for each new license and/or
classification you add to your current license
you will have to pay $150 to the State of
California for activation of that new license